NSO Times

NSO header

    otoole promotionNorfolk, Va. - The Norfolk Sheriff’s Office is proud to announce an important promotion. Lt. Col Michael O’Toole has promoted to the rank of Colonel. Col. O’Toole will now also assume the role of Chief Deputy.

    Col. O’Toole, who ranks second in tenure, has served the NSO with distinction for nearly 33 years. Col. O’Toole has been instrumental in many corrections reforms over the years including the establishment of the Norfolk Drug Court twenty years ago, establishing the first GPS monitoring program for inmates in the Commonwealth, and implementing the first evidence-based reentry programs which have become models for jails acrossVirginia. More recently, Col. O’Toole helped establish the first vocational program state-wide for inmates in partnership with Priority Automotive.

    In addition to his many jail responsibilities, Col. O’Toole is very active in the community. He serves on several boards including Ocean View Beach Kiwanis, Norfolk Community Service Board, Norfolk Drug Court Advisory Board, Priority Toyota Charity Bowl Board Member, ODU Hoops Club, Norfolk Criminal Justice Board, Norfolk Evidence Based Criminal Justice Board, and Virginia Prisoner and Juvenile Offender Re-Entry Council.

    Col. O’Toole joined the Norfolk Sheriff’s Office in July of 1986. Born and raised in Norfolk, Col. O’Toole attended Norfolk Catholic High School and later Old Dominion University. He earned a master’s degree from ODU. Col. O’Toole is an adjunct professor at both ODU and TCC.

    Honored guests at Col. O’Toole’s promotion ceremony included: Mayor Kenneth Cooper Alexander, Hon. Joseph Migliozzi – Norfolk Circuit Court, Mike Goldsmith - Assistant Norfolk City Manager, Joe Clark - NPD Assistant Police Chief, Councilman Martin Thomas, Mr. Dennis Ellmer & Mr. Stacey Cummings - Priority Automotive. Attorney George Neskins, Adm. (Ret) Jack Kavanaugh, Del. Joe Lindsey, ODU Coach Bobby Wilder and athletic staff, Col. Dave Hackworth and Lt. Col. Christopher Walz- Hampton Roads Regional Jail, George Schaefer – Clerk of the Court.

    Click to download the print version of NSO Times

    NSO Times 01and02 2019

    Hard copy version available in the Administration Office, 140 East Street
    hampton roads best place
    V3 2

    Get In Touch

    • 811 E. City Hall Avenue
      Norfolk, VA 23510

    • (757) 664-4700

    • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.